Current Table

State Drivers License Renewal Laws Including Requirements For Older Drivers

(As of September 2019)

    Renewal for older drivers Proof of adequate vision
required at renewal (1)
 
State Length of regular
renewal cycle (years)
Length
(years)
Age Older drivers, age Age limits on mail
or online renewal
Alabama 4        
Alaska 5     69 69
Arizona 12 5 65   (2)
Arkansas 8 4 or 8,
personal option
70   (2)
California (3) 5     70 70
Colorado 5       66
Connecticut 8 2 65   (2)
Delaware 8       (2)
D.C. 8       70
Florida 8 6 80 80  
Georgia 8       64
Hawaii 8 2 72    
Idaho 4 or 8,
personal option
4 63   70
Illinois 4 2 81 (4) 75 75
Indiana 6 3 75 (4) 75  
Iowa 8 2 72 70 70
Kansas 6 4 65   (2)
Kentucky 8       (2)
Louisiana 6     70 70
Maine 6 4 65 40 and 62 62
Maryland 8     40  
Massachusetts 5     75 75
Michigan 4        
Minnesota 4       (2)
Mississippi 4 or 8,
personal option
       
Missouri 6 3 70   (2)
Montana 8 4 75    
Nebraska 5     72 72
Nevada 8 4 65 71 65
New Hampshire 5        
New Jersey 4 2 or 4,
personal option
70    
New Mexico 4 or 8,
personal option
4 71 (4) 75 75
New York 8        
North Carolina 8 5 66    
North Dakota 6 4 78   65
Ohio 4       (2)
Oklahoma 4       (2)
Oregon 8     50 (2)
Pennsylvania 4 2 or 4,
personal option
65    
Rhode Island 5 2 75    
South Carolina 8        
South Dakota 5     65  
Tennessee 8        
Texas 6 2 85 79 79
Utah 8     65  
Vermont 2 or 4        
Virginia 8 5 75 75 75
Washington 6       70
West Virginia 8        
Wisconsin 8       (2)
Wyoming 4        

(1) States noted in this column require proof of adequate vision for older drivers at the age shown at every renewal. Most states require all drivers to show proof at every renewal or every in-person renewal. Eight states (Alabama, Connecticut, Kentucky, Mississippi, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, Tennessee and Vermont) do not require drivers to show proof of adequate vision at any age.
(2) Online or mail renewal not permitted for all drivers.
(3) Specifically requires doctors to report a diagnosis of dementia.
(4) These states have special renewal requirements for other age groups: Illinois (1 year for drivers 87 and older); Indiana (2 years for drivers 85 and older); and New Mexico (1 year for drivers 79 and older).

Note: Specific requirements vary by state; contact state departments of motor vehicles for more information.

Source: Insurance Institute for Highway Safety; Governors Highway Safety Association.