Media Advisory: Triple-I Experts Are Available to Discuss Hurricane Laura’s Insurance Implications

For immediate release
New York Press Office: 917-923-8245, michaelb@iii.org

 

NEW YORK, August 27, 2020 —Reporters covering Hurricane Laura are encouraged to contact the Insurance Information Institute (Triple-I) for interviews and analysis.

Hurricane Laura made landfall this morning as a Category 4 storm near Cameron, Louisiana. It was the seventh named storm to make landfall in the continental U.S. in 2020. Hurricanes Hanna and Isaias as well as Tropical Storms Bertha, Cristobal, Fay, and Marco were the others.

The Triple-I subject matter experts listed below can discuss hurricane-related autohomeownersrenters, and business insurance coverage issues while also providing claims-filing tips.  

California:

  • Janet Ruiz, CPCU, AIM, Director, Strategic Communications707-490-9365; janetr@iii.org

Florida:

  • Mark Friedlander, Director, Corporate Communications: 904-806-7813, markf@iii.org

Georgia:

  • William Davis, Southeast Regional Media Relations Representative: 770-331-9279; williamd@iii.org

Missouri:

  • Scott Holeman, Director, Media Relations: 212-346-5566; scotth@iii.org

New York:

  • Michael Barry, Head of Media and Public Affairs: 917-923-8245; michaelb@iii.org
  • Loretta Worters, Vice President, Media Relations: 917-208-8842; lorettaw@iii.org 

RELATED LINKS:

 

BLOG:
Triple-I Blog

 

CONSUMER INFORMATION:
Catastrophes: Insurance Issues
Brochure: Settling Insurance Claims After A Disaster
Spotlight on Flood Insurance
Facts About Flood Insurance
Recovering from a Flood

 

INFOGRAPHICS:
What Are Hurricane Deductibles?

 

EXTERNAL RESOURCES:
FEMA’s National Flood Insurance Program (NFIP)

 

VIDEO:
Triple-I’s Hurricane Laura Update—Thursday, Aug. 27, 2020
Triple-I Tips During Evacuation Orders

 

WEBSITE:
Triple-I’s Resilience Accelerator


The Triple-I has a full library of educational videos on its YouTube Channel. Information about Triple-I mobile apps can be found here.

 

Back to top