State Drivers License Renewal Laws Including Requirements For Older Drivers

(As of October 2018)

    Renewal for older drivers Proof of adequate vision
required at renewal (1)
 
State Length of regular
renewal cycle (years)
Length (years) Age Older Drivers, age Age limits on mail
or online renewal
Alabama 4        
Alaska 5     69 69
Arizona 12 5 65    
Arkansas 8 4 or 8, personal option 70    
California (2) 5     70 70
Colorado 5       66
Connecticut 6 2 or 6, personal option 65    
Delaware 8        
D.C. 8       70
Florida 8 6 80 80  
Georgia 8       64
Hawaii 8 2 72    
Idaho 4 or 8, personal option 4 63   70
Illinois 4 2 81 (3) 75 75
Indiana 6 3 75 (3) 75 75
Iowa 8 2 72 70 70
Kansas 6 4 65    
Kentucky 8        
Louisiana 6     70 70
Maine 6 4 65 40 and 62 62
Maryland 8     40  
Massachusetts 5     75 75
Michigan 4        
Minnesota 4        
Mississippi 4 or 8, personal option        
Missouri 6 3 70    
Montana 8 4 75    
Nebraska 5     72 72
Nevada 8 4 65 71 65
New Hampshire 5        
New Jersey 4 2 or 4, personal option 70    
New Mexico 4 or 8, personal option 4 67 (3) 75 75
New York 8        
North Carolina 8 5 66    
North Dakota 6 4 78   65
Ohio 4        
Oklahoma 4        
Oregon 8     50  
Pennsylvania 4 2 or 4, personal option 65    
Rhode Island 5 2 75    
South Carolina 8        
South Dakota 5     65  
Tennessee 8        
Texas 6 2 85 79 79
Utah 5     65  
Vermont 2 or 4        
Virginia 8 5 75 75 75
Washington 6       70
West Virginia 8        
Wisconsin 8        
Wyoming 4        

(1) States noted in this column require proof of adequate vision for older drivers at the age shown at every renewal. Most states require all drivers to show proof at every renewal or every in-person renewal. Eight states (Alabama, Connecticut, Kentucky, Mississippi, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, Tennessee and Vermont) do not require drivers to show proof of adequate vision at any age.
(2) Specifically requires doctors to report a diagnosis of dementia.
(3) These states have special renewal requirements for other age groups: Illinois (1 year for drivers 87 and older); Indiana (2 years for drivers 85 and older); and New Mexico (1 year for drivers 75 and older).

Note: Specific requirements vary by state; contact state department of motor vehicles for more information.

Source: Insurance Institute for Highway Safety; Governors Highway Safety Administration.