Current Table

State Young Driver Laws (1)

(As of September 2019)

  Graduated licensing  
     Intermediate phase  
State Learners permit required
for a minimum period
Restrictions on
night driving (2)
Passenger
restrictions (3)
Driver may not operate
a cellphone in learner
and/or intermediate stages (4)
Alabama 6 months X X Talk
Alaska 6 months X X  
Arizona 6 months X X  
Arkansas 6 months X X Talk
California 6 months X X Talk
Colorado 12 months X X Talk
Connecticut 6 months X X Talk
Delaware 6 months X X Talk
D.C. 6 months X X Talk
Florida 12 months X    
Georgia 12 months X X Talk
Hawaii 6 months X X Talk
Idaho 6 months X X  
Illinois 9 months X X Talk
Indiana 6 months X X Talk
Iowa 12 months X   Talk
Kansas 12 months X X Talk
Kentucky 6 months X X Talk
Louisiana 6 months X X Talk
Maine 6 months X X Talk
Maryland 9 months X X Talk
Massachusetts 6 months X X Talk
Michigan 6 months X X Talk
Minnesota 6 months X X Talk
Mississippi 12 months X    
Missouri 6 months X X Text
Montana 6 months X X  
Nebraska 6 months X X Talk
Nevada 6 months X X  
New Hampshire none (5) X X Talk
New Jersey 6 months X X Talk
New Mexico 6 months X X Talk
New York 6 months X X  
North Carolina 12 months X X Talk
North Dakota 6-12 months (6) X   Talk
Ohio 6 months X X Talk
Oklahoma 6 months X X Talk (7)
Oregon 6 months X X Talk
Pennsylvania 6 months X X  
Rhode Island 6 months X X Talk
South Carolina 6 months X X  
South Dakota 6 months X   Talk
Tennessee 6 months X X Talk
Texas 6 months X X Talk
Utah 6 months X X Talk
Vermont  12 months   X Talk
Virginia 9 months X X Talk
Washington 6 months X X Talk
West Virginia 6 months X X Talk
Wisconsin 6 months X X Talk
Wyoming 10 days X X  

(1) Designed to aid young novice drivers between the ages of 15 and 18 gain driving experience. To date they apply only to drivers under the age of 18. All states have lower blood alcohol content laws for drivers under 21, which range from none to 0.02 grams per deciliter, in contrast with 0.08 grams per deciliter for drivers over the age of 21 in most states. Includes graduated licensing as defined by the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration. Every state has a graduated licensing law.
(2) Intermediate stage; varies by state with regard to age of driver, night hours that driving is restricted, who must accompany driver during night hours and how long and what stage the restrictions are lifted. Exceptions may be made for work, school or religious activities and emergencies.
(3) Intermediate stage; limits the number of teenage passengers a young driver may have in the vehicle.
(4) Only includes states with restrictions on the use of cellphones for talking or texting by young drivers. Does not reference cellphone laws such as bans on handheld cellphones that apply to all drivers in some states.
(5) New Hampshire does not issue learners permits.
(6) Under age 16: 12 months; 16-18: 6 months.
(7) Banned for non-life threatening purposes.

Source: Insurance Institute for Highway Safety.