Current Table

State Laws Curbing Alcohol-Impaired Driving

(As of October 2018)

  Interlocks (1) required    
    To drive during post-conviction license suspension To reinstate license after conviction    
State To drive during ALS (2)
(first offense)
First offender Repeat offender First offender Repeat offender ALS (2) mandatory
90-day license suspension (3)
Open container law (4)
Alabama (5) X X   X X X
Alaska X X X X  
Arizona     X  X X X
Arkansas X X X     X X
California   X (6) X X (6) X (6) X X
Colorado X X   X X X
Connecticut (5) (5) (5) X X X  
Delaware (5) X X X X X  
D.C.   X X       X
Florida   * X * X X X
Georgia     X   X X X
Hawaii X X X X X X X
Idaho   * (5) X** X X X
Illinois X   X   X X X
Indiana           X X
Iowa X X X   X X X
Kansas (5) (5) X X X   X
Kentucky (7) * X * X   X
Louisiana   X X     X  
Maine     X     X X
Maryland   X X X X X X
Massachusetts (5)   X   X X X
Michigan (7) * X   X   X
Minnesota * * X     X X
Mississippi X X     X  
Missouri       X X  
Montana (7)           X
Nebraska X X X X X X
Nevada X X X X X X X
New Hampshire (5) X (5)   X X X
New Jersey (7) (5) (5) * X   X
New Mexico X X X X X X X
New York (7) X X X X   X
North Carolina   * (5) * X   X
North Dakota           X X
Ohio     X     X X
Oklahoma X X X   X X X
Oregon   X X X X X X
Pennsylvania (7) * X * X   X
Rhode Island (7) X X   X   X
South Carolina (7) * (5) * X   X
South Dakota (7)           X
Tennessee (7) X X   X X X
Texas   X X   X X X
Utah   (5) (5) X X X X
Vermont X X X     X X
Virginia (5) X X   X   X
Washington X X X X X X X
West Virginia X X X   X X X
Wisconsin           X X
Wyoming     X * X X  

(1) Ignition interlock devices analyze a driver's breath for alcohol and disable the ignition if a driver has been drinking. States identified mandate the devices on offenders' vehicles.
(2) Administrative license suspension, on-the-spot drivers license suspension or revocation if blood alcohol concentration (BAC) is over the legal limit or the driver refuses to take a BAC test.
(3) Mandatory penalty for violation of the implied consent law, which means that drivers who refuse to take a breath alcohol test when stopped or are arrested for alcohol-impaired driving or if BAC is over the legal limit will have their license revoked or suspended.
(4) Prohibits unsealed alcohol containers and alcohol consumption in motor vehicle passenger compartments for all occupants. Counts only laws meeting federal requirements.
(5) No option for driving during suspension.
(6) In four counties.
(7) State has no administrative license suspension for first test failure.

* State does not require interlocks except under certain conditions; see IIHS website.
** Effective January 1, 2019.

Source: Insurance Institute for Highway Safety; Governors Highway Safety Administration.

 
STATE LAWS CURBING DRUNK DRIVING
  License revocation      
State Admin. Iicense rev./ susp. (1) Mandatory 90-day license rev./ susp. (2) Open container law (3) Prelim. breath test permitted by law DWI plea bargaining prohibited
Alabama X X X    
Alaska X X X (4) X  
Arizona X X X X X
Arkansas X X     X
California X X X X X
Colorado X X X X X
Connecticut X X      
Delaware X X   X  
D.C. X X X X  
Florida X X X X X (5)
Georgia X X X    
Hawaii X X X X (5)  
Idaho X X X    
Illinois X X X X  
Indiana X X X X (5)  
Iowa X X X X  
Kansas X   X (4) X X
Kentucky     X X X (5)
Louisiana X X X    
Maine X X X    
Maryland X   X X  
Massachusetts X X X    
Michigan     X X X (5)
Minnesota X X X X  
Mississippi X X   X X
Missouri X     X  
Montana     X X  
Nebraska X X X X  
Nevada X X X X X
New Hampshire X X X X  
New Jersey     X   X (6)
New Mexico X X X   X (5)
New York (7)   X X X
North Carolina X   X X  
North Dakota X X X X  
Ohio X X X    
Oklahoma X X X (4)    
Oregon X X X   X
Pennsylvania     X X X (5)
Rhode Island     X (4) X  
South Carolina     X    
South Dakota     X X  
Tennessee     X (4)    
Texas X X X    
Utah X X X   X (5)
Vermont X X X X  
Virginia X     X  
Washington X X X    
West Virginia X X   X  
Wisconsin X X X X  
Wyoming X X X   X
(1) On-the-spot drivers license suspension or revocation if BAC is over the legal limit or the driver refuses to take a BAC test.
(2) Mandatory penalty for violation of the implied consent law, which means that drivers who refuse to take a breath alcohol test when stopped or arrested for drunk driving will have their license revoked or suspended.
(3) Prohibits unsealed alcohol containers in motor vehicle passenger compartments for all occupants. Arresting officer not required to witness consumption.
(4) Applies only to the driver.
(5) With limitations or conditions.
(6) Not specifically for drunk driving; Attorney General has established a no plea bargain policy.
(7) Administrative license suspension lasts until prosecution is complete.

Source: U.S. Department of Transportation, National Highway Traffic Safety Administration; Insurance Institute for Highway Safety; Property Casualty Insurers Association of America; Insurance Information Institute.