Media Advisory: I.I.I. Experts Are Available Over the Labor Day Weekend to Discuss Hurricane Dorian’s Insurance Implications

For immediate release
New York Press Office: (212) 346-5500; media@iii.org

NEW YORK, August 30, 2019 — Reporters covering Hurricane Dorian are encouraged to contact the Insurance Information Institute (I.I.I.) for interviews and analysis over the Labor Day weekend.

The I.I.I. spokespeople listed below can discuss via telephone or Skype auto, homeowners, renters, and business insurance coverage issues while also offering hurricane preparedness and claims-filing tips.    

Moreover, these spokespeople are able to put Hurricane Dorian into historical perspective after 2018’s Hurricane Michael and 2017’s Hurricane Irma made landfall in Florida, generating nearly $7 billion and $11 billion-plus in insured claim payouts statewide, respectively. Each of them also can arrange interviews with other I.I.I. subject matter experts.

Florida:
Mark Friedlander, Florida Communications Consultant: 904-806-7813; markf@iii.org  

Georgia:
Bill Davis, Southeastern Media Representative: 770-331-9279; williamd@iii.org

New York:
Michael Barry, Head of Media and Public Affairs: 917-923-8245; michaelb@iii.org
Loretta Worters, Vice President, Media Relations: 917-208-8842; lorettaw@iii.org

Illinois:
Lynne McChristian, Non-Resident Scholar, University of Illinois: 813-480-6446; lynnem@iii.org

In addition, the I.I.I. has a Non-Resident Scholar who can discuss Dorian-related meteorological issues. Dr. Klotzbach specializes in Atlantic basin seasonal hurricane forecasts.

Colorado: 
Dr. Philip Klotzbach, Non-Resident Scholar, Colorado State University: 508-479-3925; philk@atmos.colostate.edu  


The I.I.I. has a full library of educational videos on its YouTube Channel. Information about I.I.I. mobile apps can be found here.

THE I.I.I. IS A NONPROFIT, COMMUNICATIONS ORGANIZATION SUPPORTED BY THE INSURANCE INDUSTRY.

Insurance Information Institute, 110 William Street, New York, NY 10038; (212) 346-5500; www.iii.org​​​​​​​

Back to top