Media Advisory: Reporters Covering The Texas, Oklahoma Flooding can Contact the I.I.I. for Analysis, Resources and Interviews

I.I.I. Spokesperson in Houston Can Discuss Insurance Implications for Homeowners, Drivers and Businesses

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE
New York Press Office: (212) 346-5500; media@iii.org

NEW YORK, May 27, 2015 — The Insurance Information Institute’s (I.I.I.) disaster communications representative, Lynne McChristian is traveling to Houston, Texas, today to explain the insurance implications of the Texas and Oklahoma floods,

 

The I.I.I.’s Lynne McChristian will be available in Houston as of the evening of Wednesday, May 27. She can be interviewed on site, via telephone (813-480-6446), in-studio, by phone, and Skype. Her email address is lynnem@iii.org.

 

The I.I.I.’s Elianne González is also available for Spanish-language media interviews. She is based in Miami and can be reached at 954-389-9517; her email address is elianneg@iii.org.

 

Flood damage is excluded under standard homeowners, renters and business insurance policies. Flood coverage is available, however, as a separate policy from FEMA’s National Flood Insurance Program (NFIP) and from a few private insurers.  

 

For vehicles, flooding is covered under the optional comprehensive coverage available with a standard auto insurance policy.

 

Reporters can also contact the following I.I.I. insurance experts in New York for information or interviews:

 

  • Dr. Robert Hartwig, President and Economist: 212-346-5520; bobh@iii.org
  • Jeanne Salvatore, Senior Vice President and Chief Communications Officer: 212-346-5555; jeannes@iii.org
  • Michael Barry, Vice President, Media Relations: 212-346-5542; michaelb@iii.org
  • Loretta Worters Vice President, Communications: 212-346-5545; lorettaw@iii.org

 

RELATED LINKS

Articles:

In Case of a Flood

Flood Insurance

Does My Business Need Flood Insurance?

 

Facts and Statistics: Flood Insurance

 

Issues Updates: Flood Insurance

 

Video: Water vs Flood Damage

 

The I.I.I. has a full library of educational videos on its You Tube Channel. Information about I.I.I. mobile apps can be found here.

 

THE I.I.I. IS A NONPROFIT, COMMUNICATIONS ORGANIZATION SUPPORTED BY THE INSURANCE INDUSTRY.

 

Insurance Information Institute, 110 William Street, New York, NY 10038; (212) 346-5500; www.iii.org

Back to top